Skip to content

Drawn & Quartered

May 12, 2010

My latest stitching project was a set of flour sack dish kitchen towels for a very good friend of mine. She is an excellent cook who LOVES meat, especially pigs… She believes in animals as food, not pets. I remember seeing this lovely photo on the flickr embroidery pool a few months ago, and thought it would be a perfect thing to stitch on a set of towels. It turns out there is a cow and a sheep by the same illustrator on-line, so I decided to stitch those up as well. The result was a drawn & quartered pig, cow, and sheep set of flour sack towels:

I had to reinforce the towels with interfacing to hold the stitches as the weave on the towels is rather loose. I tossed these in the washing machine to make the stitches could handle it, and it looks like a few stitches came out on the cow…I will have to fix those. I hope my friend likes! My other recent stitching project was a gray denim casual handbag that I got on super sale at Old Navy. Found a pattern I liked in the Hoop Love Vintage Transfer pool on flickr (you may have to be a member of the flickr group in order to view the pattern, I’m not sure). Since the fabric of the bag was gray, I couldn’t use a water soluble marker to transfer the image, and I hate using transfer paper because it always rubs off, so I ended up using tracing paper:

Tracing on tracing paper is rough…can’t see the stitches, it’s annoying. I recently read about using a water soluble interfacing type stuff for predicaments such as these, I will have to find that stuff because I’m sure it’s better than tracing paper. Come to think of it, the tear-away interfacing I have would probably work better than tracing paper, too. Will have to try it next time… Anyway, here’s how it turned out:

Left detail:

Right detail:

And here’s a little something I started tonight just for funsies:

This is a super cute retro pattern from doe-c-doe found (again) in the Hoop Love Vintage Transfer flickr group. I’m stitching it on this retro sheet I found thrifting while visiting my parents in San Diego last month. I think it will look very cool…gonna try to keep the colors very 60’s: bright orange, yellow, blue, green, and brown.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:19 am

    I recieved a set of those green sheets from my Aunt Delaine for a wedding gift! I got married in 1977, so that’s how old those sheets are. So I guess since the sheets considered vintage, my husband should be considered vintage, too.
    Karen

  2. Amy permalink
    May 27, 2011 8:01 pm

    Where did you find the meat section patterns? I MUST buy them…

Leave a Reply

