Skip to content

Antiquing, San Diego style

April 29, 2010

Antiquing is my mom’s favorite thing to do, and making fun of her for doing it is one of my favorite things to do 😉 I asked my mom to take me while I was at home because I wanted to see what was so great about it, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I thought antiques were all frilly, girly things, but no, there are also things like this:

My mom took me here specifically to see this booth in a very cool antique mall in Ocean Beach. This booth is run by two women who call themselves “The Kitchen Ladies,” and it ROCKS! I wanted everything. They had their merchandise displayed by color. Blue:

Red & green:

See that super cute white and red polka dot bowl at the top left? $90. Yes, I said 90 bucks. Cra-zay! But it is cute, right? There was a crazy collection of vintage pastel tupperware:

I loved these canisters:

Pink & blue, my new favorite color scheme:

I discovered that I love vintage Pyrex and other Pyrex-type stuff. My mom bought me this set of 4 Cindarella (with a handle and a spout) Pyrex bowls in the pink Gooseberry pattern:

Matches the other stuff I picked up at other shops. For example, check out this adorable hand-stitched (and sewn!, well it’s machine-sewn, but  by a regular person, not in a factory) mini-tablecloth/dresser scarf thing:

Adorable vintage pattern, with a cat on one side, and a dog on the other. Blue napkins next to cat are from the Kitchen Ladies, a full set of eight vintage cloth napkins with not a single stain on them. They look like they’ve never been used. Dog:

My mom said they look “smug.” Also picked up a few pieces at another antique mall, in a guy’s booth who clearly doesn’t know how to price his stuff. These custard dishes were only $3.50 a piece:

I saw a set of four at another place for $20. Matching “lunch tray” was only $4:

I plan to use this to serve cheese or sliced bread. Check out the back:

Crazy, huh? Of course I had to have the matching small casserole:

And finally, an 8 cup pyrex measuring cup:

What I love about all this stuff is that it’s durable enough to be used on a regular basis, so you can enjoy them a lot rather than only on “special occasions.” Now, when I go to thrift stores, I will have my eyes open in a whole different way, on the hunt for pieces to add to my tiny, but well-begun collection.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

