Skip to content

Adventures in thrifting: the San Diego edition

April 24, 2010

Today my mom and I went thrifting in her part of town. I found a San Diego thrift store directory online, which gave mini-reviews of each store along with address and phone number. The first store we went in was the Disabled Veterans of American Thrift Store. WOW. It was huge, it was clean, it had everything…it was awesome. Hands down the best thrift store I’ve ever been in. They had a huge collection of linens, including cloth napkin sets, aprons, tablecloths, table runners, sheets, on and on and on. I was really intrigued by the apron collection. There were so many great vintage and hand-made aprons, but unfortunately the majority of them were too stained to be worth purchasing. I took pictures of my favorites:

These were all hand-made, some with embroidery on them. It was awesome to see all the hand-stitched stuff, so much of it vintage/retro. This was on a table cloth:

This was a crazy card table cover:

The following are all pictures of hand stitching on tablecloths, all too stained to be of much use:

Someone, a very long time ago, in teeny-tiny stitches, stitched up this delicate handkerchief:

And, probably not so long ago, someone stitched up this pillow:

There were some WAY retro things:

I loved the tie, but my husband would never wear it, so it’s there for some hipster to snag for a buck. Lucky them. The seagull thing was a shower curtain that reminded me of some crazy brown and orange stripey lion sheets my mom had when I was a kid. We went to a couple other thrift stores and saw more great stuff. Sadly, I could not buy all of it. Happily, my mom paid for everything, yay for moms! Here’s what I came away with:

A gaggle (I don’t think you’re supposed to use this word this way, but oh well!) of embroidery hoops of various shapes and sizes:

The giant oval hoop at the bottom was $2.65….$2.65?! Crazy, just crazy. Most of the other hoops were .95 – 2.50, and there are 2 “sets” of 3 that were about a dollar. Love it, love it, love it. I got 2 polka-dotty scarves, the blue and white one was 3.95 and the navy and red dotted one was .95:

I scored 5 sets of vintage cloth napkins, the red and white ones were about $5 each, and the white with yellow birdies were .95:

These will be cute stitched with some small design, like a monogram or something. The birdie ones really remind me of someone in particular… A few vintage patterned sheets for $1, $2, and $3 will make interesting stitching fabric:

And finally, the piece de resistance…a vintage hand-stitched table cloth:

This is really reminiscent of several vintage patterns in the Hoop Love Vintage Transfer flickr group. When I saw this, I couldn’t believe it. It was 1) a completed piece, 2) clean, 3) free of holes and snags, and 3) $9! Here are some close-ups of the stitching:

Except for a few lazy daisies with french knot centers, the entire piece was done in tiny split stitches. And I mean tiny. So, I am super excited, I consider my first San Diego thrifting adventure very successful. It was a throw-back kind of day all around. I went for a jog at my old high school this morning, it was a trip. The track there is very nice, it’s made of that spongy stuff…it used to be gravel. It was funny because running on the track was something I never did in high school, and here I am going there just to use the track at age 27. Never too late to start I guess.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 5:51 pm

    Congrats on all your great finds !!!!
    What a nice time you and your mom must have had !!!
    The tablecloth is a great find !!! Doesn’t it feel great ???
    Last year I was able to score one in perfect condition for very little (less than 5.00) at
    the local library community spring sale. It matches my kitchen
    and fits my round breakfast table perfectly and it also has 6 matching napkins.
    Enjoy your goodies !!!

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      April 25, 2010 7:33 pm

      I’m not wild about the pink on the tablecloth, but i love that it’s in bright colors, in great condition, and a beautifully hand made piece. There were some hand stitched pieces I saw that weren’t so neatly done, so I feel totally lucky to have scored that little beauty…can’t wait to try it out at home. I will have to find a set of napkins to match and stitch those up…oooh, future projects!

  2. August 29, 2014 7:45 pm

    Disabled Vets always had great thrift stuff back in the 1980-1990s. Glad they are still going.
    I am laughing at the fern sheets. I had that set on my bed in the 1970s! This are OLD sheets!

Leave a Reply

