Skip to content

I’m still stitching…

April 18, 2010

It’s not really necessary to say it, but I’ve been absent from the blogging world for quite a while. There aren’t really any good reasons why, just haven’t felt like it I guess. But, not to worry, I have been stitching in my absence. There are quite a few projects I haven’t blogged about, the most recent of which I’ve been working on for the past three weeks. If you recall, a few months ago, I was working on a series of vintage Silver, Glass, China patterns for my mom for mother’s day, but then decided to scrap it after I couldn’t quite get it together for the China piece. I decided to instead stitch up a pillow case using the “antique bouquet” pattern from the A Rainbow of Stitches book. I didn’t take any pictures of the project in stages, so these pictures of the almost finished product will have to do. I have finished the bouquet pattern, but am not quite finished with the pillow case.

You will notice that I used a variety of stitches, and that everything is filled in, which took a very, very long time…Fill stitches on all the small flowers:

The color-scheme was chosen to match a patchwork quilt that my mom uses on her bed. This was my first time using the chain stitch as a fill-stitch:

I love using french knots for filling in, even though it takes forever and can make the wrist ache:

I also used a variety of flosses. I used DMC floss for most everything, but I also used Clover LETO floss that I bought online a while back, and DMC variegated perl cotton floss (the above french knotted things are stitched with this). I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but the LETO floss (the large blue and purple flower is LETO and everything else is DMC) has a more matte finish and looks a bit more woolly than the DMC floss:

I’m still not quite finished though. I will be adding a border I found on the Hoop Love Vintage Transfer group on flickr. Hopefully that will not take me another three weeks to get through…I’ll also hopefully post more often 🙂 Here are the projects I did while I was away. Dish towels for a friend’s bridal shower:

Easter treat for my friend who loves Easter:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 6:14 pm

    Wow love the flower stitches!

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      April 24, 2010 6:42 pm

      Thanks Cherie! I found your blog and I love it, yay!

  2. April 24, 2010 1:33 pm

    Beautiful Mel – I think your mom will love it! PS – this is Other Mel (aka Not Sew Perfect). 🙂

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      April 25, 2010 7:34 pm

      I had to take a break from that thing after I finished the bouquet…it took SO long to do that I just need to be away from it for a while before I get started on the border. Mother’s Day is inching ever closer though, so I should probably hop to it once I get back home. I don’t think I will be as detailed with the border though…probably not going to be doing any filling and using simple stitches.

Leave a Reply

