Skip to content

Seashells and stitching books

March 11, 2010

I continue to make progress on the tropical piece, slowly but surely. I finished the water, using  2 blue strands and 1 orange strand for wave shaped scallop stitches. Still not sure if I like it:

I am also now wondering how I am going to get the water soluble marker lines off the piece once I’m finished with it…any tips? The thought of trying to “wash” this fabric scares me! I am about 1/2 way through the seashells. I chose some colors that I thought had the same kind of tone to them (if that makes sense?): orange, pink, purple, green, and blue, and then what I did was take 2 strands of color and mix it with 2 strands of ecru:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 4:05 pm

    This is lovely !!!
    Did you pre-washed the fabric ?
    If you did then you shouldn’t have any problems rinsing it (the way I do mine is by filling a sink or big enough container with some water and submerge the embroider piece and letting it float repeating that motion/action for a few times -sometimes I use a hand shower/sprayer holding it very close to the piece- then place it between 2 towels to dry excess water, lay it face down on a dry towel and iron it dry).

  2. March 12, 2010 7:48 pm

    This is awesome. Your work is so beautiful. I have the same suggestions as My 1st Bambina regarding washing it.

  3. March 13, 2010 5:56 am

    Oh… forgot to add…,the water soluble ink if it is not remove well, it may appear again in some spots… it has happened to me when I use to spray/mist with a water spray bottle.
    It has not happen again since I started the process described previously.

Leave a Reply

