Skip to content

Tropical WIP update

March 6, 2010

Wanted to check in to show you all some updated pictures of my tropical work in progress:

You can see that I decided to do chain stitching in a shade of purple on the moon outline. You can also see that some of my chain stitches got a bit wonky around the right palm tree and I will need to rip those out eventually and re-do them. You will also notice that I decided to do tow rows of back stitching for the outlines of the palm tree trunks, mountain/volcanoes and foliage:

Since I’m only using 3 strands, I thought a second row of back stitches, in the fill-stitch style, would look nice to give the outlines more depth and texture. I think I like it. As I mentioned in my last post, I secured some light interfacing to the back of the piece to give it some much needed stability, and so far it is working quite nicely. I am also trying something new for the water. Since this piece is in darker tones of blues and purples, I figured it is either night time or sunset, so I wanted to sort of have that reflected in the water. So, I pulled two strands of a brighter blue shade and one strand of a shade of orange, you can see it in this picture:

I’m hoping it will look sun-kissed or something. I’ll take a picture tomorrow when I’ve got some of the waves done. Those will be all scallop stitching. Oh, goodie…. On another note, I have lived in Davis for almost 10 years and never checked out the annual Pig Day at the Farmer’s Market. It was today, so I met up with some friends and headed over. I expected a barrage of pork products and of course actual real live pigs. Sadly, it was pretty much business as usual except for a bunch of pig balloons, four terrified piglets that were being constantly fondled by toddlers, and some scary ass clown/pig things that were wearing paper mache pig heads. One of them waved and started coming towards me while I was snacking on some delicious spinach naan, so I promptly made a sour-looking face and turned around to go far, far away…Oh, and THIS:

These were called “pig pops,” and looked to be a piece of pig head-shaped bread on a stick. My response to this is simply: hmmmm…. Cool stuff happened after the market though. My friend and I found this cupcake shop called “Let Them Eat Cake” that we’ve been seeing signs for around town, but hadn’t ever actually seen the store, and I got a CREAM SODA flavored cupcake with CREAM SODA flavored cream cheese frosting:

They had some other awesome sounding flavors:

which I can’t recall right now because OMGPONIES1! there was a CREAM SODA one…Crazy. It was good. Not sure it it would up to my friends’ Erin and April’s incredibly advanced cupcake palette…I shall bring them there next time they happen to be in Davis and see. Also, I got a new pair of running shoes:

Happy feet 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 3:22 pm

    I really like the blues and purples you’re using for your tropical scene, I definitely see at as night time.

    Pig Day at the famers market? My brother-in-law works in Davis, I’ll have to ask him about that, funny! Him and my sister live in Vacaville, samll world, huh?

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      March 8, 2010 10:31 am

      Yes, it IS a small world, Lisa 🙂 I’ll probably post a picture of the blue/orange water today…not sure if it looks o.k. The orange strand looks pretty yellow next to the blue.

  2. March 8, 2010 9:58 am

    I had no idea that the Davis Farmers’ Market had a pig day….

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      March 8, 2010 10:32 am

      Well, it was certainly nothing to write home about, Jen. I AM getting to Daniel’s project soonish…I have it all planned out and am really excited to get to it!

Leave a Reply

