Skip to content

Project switch-a-roo and a sneaky-peaky

March 2, 2010

In my last post I wrote about the design process (oooooh, that sounds all fancy, huh?) for my first attempt at creating a pattern from scratch. Well it turned out that my friend actually like the palm tree & island motif better than the hula girl. The palm tree evoked a strong sense of nostalgia for her because she had palm tree themed linens that looked something like this:

So I switched out the hula girl for the palm tree motif and came up with this:

I don’t know what I think about the “FAR AWAY” text anymore…it looks kind of loose and perhaps messy compared to the rest of the design. Maybe I will nix it and put in some sea shells in it’s place. There are some great seashell designs in the book Eric got (ordered off my Amazon wish list) me for my birthday:

The book is French, which I didn’t know until I started looking through it. It’s organized by color: green, pink, blue, red and white, with a project per page in full-page photos. At the end of each color section there are patterns and images for photo-copying and transferring to make the projects shown (or your own!). I LOVE LOVE LOVE this project & pattern motif:

A pink poodle table runner! WHAT?! I don’t know if I even know anyone who would use this in their house, but isn’t it darling? SIGH. I am almost finished with my current stitching project, a birthday project for a friend which I can’t describe in any detail because, you never know who might be watching…I can, however, give you a few sneak peaks:

I can’t wait to show you the whole thing, but that will just have to wait. I think today I will work on cleaning up the tropical pattern and getting it transferred onto some lovely linen I got at JoAnn’s over the weekend. I have been wondering where to get embroidery hoops for framing embroidery that I am giving as gifts, so I posted a discussion topic on the lovely embroidery flickr group and got some good feedback about where to look. Most people said thrift stores, so I am going to check out the thrift stores we have here in town, which are very few and kind of crappy, so….we’ll see. It is another rainy day here in Davis, and Amelia has been inspired by the gray weather to just settle down in her kitty bed and sleep the day away (don’t you wish were a cat some days? I do…). Here she is kneading her blankie in her bed:

And even though it’s rainy, rainy, rainy outside, spring continues to make it’s impending presence known. To wit:

What a beautiful giant flowering tree….too bad it’s full of evil pollen that will make me sneeze and my mouth itch like crazy. There is a big pink tree across the street. These flowering trees are all over Davis and are a big part of what makes this town so pretty in the Spring. What’s your favorite blooming thing in spring?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jtlulumom permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:30 pm

    Is this your blog Melody? I love it!! Your stitching is really great and I’m gonna follow it and keep up with your projects. (PS, it’s Tania, Erin’s friend)

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      March 2, 2010 3:02 pm

      Hi Tania…yes this is my blog šŸ™‚ Yes, this is Erin’s friend Melody (and your friend now, too I suppose! šŸ™‚ ) I would love for you to keep up with me, the more the merrier. I must admit I checked out your crafty blog last week so I will be following you, too šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

