Skip to content

Day 46: Depression glass

February 18, 2010

When I was growing up and it was time to visit Grandma’s house, my favorite thing to do in her house was look at her collection of pink depression glass. She kept it on display in a tall glass hutch, and the pieces were back-lit so that their color could be appreciated even on dark days. If you know what depression glass is, then you know that when it was first produced and popular, it was not expensive stuff. But my Grandma’s collection of pink depression glass is one of her most prized possessions and she is very proud of it. Her pride is not just about the unusual color, the pieces, or how pretty it is, I think it’s more that the collection represents her living through the Great Depression. There are other things about the Great Depression that have stuck with my Grandma, such as an affinity for canned peaches and cottage cheese and bologna sandwiches. All I know is that as a little girl I was fascinated with the pink glass dishes and cups, and my Grandma knew it; she always said that all that lovely glass would be mine one day (thank goodness that day has not yet come). Anyway, depression glass was made in all sorts of colors:

My favorite colors of depression glass are (obviously) pink:

and green:

Since it was time to move on to the “Glass” piece in the vintage “Silver, Glass, China” series I started, I decided to make the piece depression glass themed. And since there are two separate glass objects represented in the pattern, I decided to make one pink and one green.

I also decided that I would try a new stitch for this piece, the chain stitch. I was pretty nervous about learning the chain stitch because I watched my friend do it a few weeks ago and it seemed kind of difficult. Luckily, the internets are amazing and I found this awesome video tutorial, which I watched several times while trying the stitch until I felt comfortable with it.Β  You can tell that my chains are pretty loose:

The green chains are tighter than the pink, but I think I was having a hard time doing the pink chains because of the wavy line issue and I was having a hard time pushing the needles through the fabric. This fabric is pretty thick, I really would like to get some nice linen of something less thick to stitch on. Not sure if using a larger needle would help…Any suggestions from stitchers as to what kinds of fabric you like to stitch on? I do think my lazy daisies have improved:

I stitched up this piece pretty quickly, I just started it yesterday and it’s already almost done. All I have left is the text, and I’m still trying to decide on the color for that. I may go with the same blue I used on the Silver piece; perhaps keeping the text color the same throughout the series would look nice?Β  Other than stitching, I had a very nice day. I got to go on a nice walk with a friend in which we took pictures of things, played on an awesome playground, and rolled down a hill. We saw a beautiful tree blossoming:

When we turned around from taking pictures of the tree, we spotted a squirrel hanging upside down eating something:

It was crazy looking, but very cool. After our walk we picked up another friend and headed to Tea List to do some party planning. When I got home, Eric had made chilaquiles:

YUMS. Oh yah, yesterday’s dinner of Tofu Spinach Noodle Soup was super delish as well:

The soup called for chicken but we swapped it out for tofu. Very tasty and healthy. Spring continues to pop up all over town, including my backyard. I gathered up some flowers and made a little bouquet for the dining room:

One of my biggest accomplishments from my to-do lists lately is the organization of the junk drawer. I took all the CRAP out:

And turned the junk drawer into this:

Ahhhhh….beautiful. I give it….two weeks until it all goes to crap again πŸ˜‰

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 10:34 am

    Love depression glass and love your stitching, those little dishes are so cute! Pink and green was a perfect choice. What is the fabric you’re stitching on? It looks really nice.

    Cute squirrel shot (I like squirrels too). πŸ™‚

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 19, 2010 10:47 am

      Hi Lisa, it’s great to “meet” you, I love your flickr stuff. I’ll probably be stitching up one of your vintage patterns soon πŸ™‚ The fabric is just heavyweight white cotton; it was next to the muslin (seemed to flimsy) at JoAnn’s; one of the women working there suggested it after I explained what I wanted it for. I wanted linen, but the only linens they had were $15/yard and I thought that was a bit pricey (although, I know nothing about fabrics, so I’m not really sure what’s reasonable). I am really interesting in knowing what fabrics people are stitching on…what do you stitch on?

      • February 20, 2010 5:54 pm

        I stitch a lot on dishtowels (no dishwasher here!), but if it’s something I’m going to frame or make a pillow, I like the white cotton fat quarters from Hancocks. They’re heavier than a muslin, and seem nicer than the cotton at JoAnn’s.

  2. February 20, 2010 5:00 pm

    How lovely !!! Your stitching is beautiful … And what a great idea to stitch this design as depression glass !!!

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 20, 2010 5:50 pm

      I’m glad you like it. I feared it might come out too cutesy with the pink and green, but I really like it. Oh! I got my Clover Leto thread delivery yesterday, and I LOVE the variegated skeins…they are so pretty. I think I will try it out on my next project, the “China” piece in the Silver, Glass, China series.

      • February 20, 2010 9:01 pm

        Like it ??? I love it !!! I don’t think there is such a thing as too cute πŸ˜‰ .
        How exciting you got your Leto thread !!! Let me know how you like it , yes… the variegated ones are pretty.
        Ohhh… and I think you commented before on the dmc floss in black about being matte … and it is true I too noticed that
        and I think is a bit “linty” as well.

Trackbacks

  1. DEPRESSION GLASS HANDLED | Kitchen Appliances & Accessories

Leave a Reply

