Skip to content

Day 43: Silver surprise

February 15, 2010

Guess what? I finished the Silver (in the vintage Silver, Glass, China series) piece today! I was not expecting that. I was also not expecting to really like how it turned out, but you know, what? I really like how it turned out! What do you think?

As I mentioned in my last post, I was worried about the dark colors used on the teapot. But I think it was sufficiently brightened by the colors used for the flowers and text. I am not totally happy with a few things. For one, I kind of suck at the lazy daisy stitch:

I know the principles behind the stitch, I just can’t seem to get the petals to look even and not wonky. I tried to look at this photo for inspiration, but clearly it did not help me. Also, I think the person who stitched those flowers used the same floss I used, which was that lovely DMC variegated perl cotton I posted about last week…love. I am also not totally satisfied with the “cross-stitching” on the text:

Yah….pretty wonky on some of those Xs…BUT, overall I think it turned out really cute and I like it a lot, especially the teapot/silverware part.

So, the only little question remaining is: does the mouth look weird? The red inside the black outline, I mean? Should it be all black or all red or does it look o.k. like it is? Since today was a holiday I did not make a list. I know that everyday is like a holiday/weekend for me these days, but I figured I would treat it like one and not worry about checking things off a list. You know what? It was nice and it FELT like a holiday. Eric actually wanted to go for a walk with me this morning, so we did that, and then when we got home I felt motivated to hit the speedbag and punch the heavy bag in the Hazzard dojo for a good while. I worked up a nice sweat and felt like I earned myself a shower. I love that feeling. I spent the rest of the day practicing Hurt on guitar and stitching, it was fun. For dinner….oh, for dinner…dinner tonight was definitely what Rachael Ray (*eyes roll* I know, I know!) calls a “rib-sticking meal.” Eric picked out all the meals for this week, and, like all men, the boy loves himself some sandwiches. He made some kind of spicy chicken sub which had, of all things, Italian style pickled vegetables ground in the food processor on it as a condiment. When I saw him get out the jar of “Giardinara” veggies (carrots, cauliflower and other stuff?) I was kind of skeptical. When I smelled it after the processed it, I was even more so (smelled super vinegary). BUT: it tasted like this:

It was GOOD. Of course, cheese and sauteed peppers & onions can make just about anything on bread awesome, but really, it was good. You can kind of see the pickled veggie stuff, it’s the tiny orange and white pieces of stuff…We also had Thai Fries, which my foodie friend April introduced to me over the summer. Thanks, April, I will always love you for the Thai Fries (and for other stuff, too, but mostly the fries…kidding!). You can use a bag of plain frozen fries if you’d like. We cut and bake our own. After you’ve got your fries cooked, squeeze lime juice all over them, apply salt, then pile on sour cream (yes, we use fat free), sweet Thai chili sauce, sliced green onions and cilantro:

SO GOOD. I already made my list for tomorrow, and let me tell ya, it’s a doozy. Til tomorrow…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. georgia permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:21 am

    I think your lazy daisy stitches look perfect, and I like the mouth just the way it is. I think when you have made something yourself you can get kind of stuck and automatically look at one thing that you may think looks a litle odd – and nobody else notices it at all. Cross stitch is hard to do neatly if it’s not done on the even weave fabrics you usually use for it. Maybe try have all your crosses going in the same direction – eep, hard to explain…try to always have the top/second stitch of your cross going the same way, do this one “/” underneath, and then this one “\” one top for all of your x’s. Are you totally confused now? 😉

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 16, 2010 12:33 pm

      Thanks Georgia. I think you are right, we are always our own worst critic. I think mainly I am just impatient. I see all these beautiful stitching projects on flickr and I am impatient to get good, but it just takes time. I’ll get there someday 🙂

  2. April permalink
    February 16, 2010 12:22 pm

    Omg. I am ACTUALLY drooling right now over that sandwich and fries. May I come live with you and Eric?

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 16, 2010 12:24 pm

      April, we ate WAY too many of those fries…it was only 3 potatoes, but DAMN it made a ton! And yes, you may come live with us.

  3. February 18, 2010 8:05 pm

    The stitching is beautiful and I like all your color choices ! Love the way you stitched the eyes !
    Ditto about your yummie food … lol !!!

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 18, 2010 11:29 pm

      Thanks! I think the flowers really brightened the whole thing up. I also used only 3 strands of floss for the face details; I think that make it look more “vintagey”…thinner lines and all that.

Leave a Reply

