Skip to content

Day 40: Day 40?! Lots of laziness

February 13, 2010

So yesterday (Friday) I did not even try to get everything on my list done. In fact, I made one of the weakest lists I think has ever been made in the history of list-making. Therefore, I am not even going to show it to you. I started a new stitching project yesterday because I just couldn’t bring myself to go back to Alice (in case you don’t know me well or have forgotten this about me, I am not a patient person, not am I the type of person who “masters” things. That expression “jack of all trades, master of none” pretty much sums up my life’s endeavors to “try” things. There are a slew of things I’ve “started,” so many that I can’t even remember them all anymore. Although Eric just commented the other day that embroidery is the thing out of all the things I’ve “started” that I’ve stuck with the longest (and it’s only been like 3 months!) and seem to enjoy the most. He has high hopes for my stitchery. BUT I DIGRESS.) Remember the Silver, China, Glass vintage series I posted about a few days ago? The series I want to stitch for my mom for Mother’s Day? Well I’ve been kind of hemming and hawing (although I think technically, I may be too young to actually hem and haw…perhaps I have just been indecisive?) about the color scheme, especially for the Silver piece because China and Glass have a lot of color possibilities, but Silver? It’s well, silver… I thought about some kind of blue or blueish gray for the silver, but in the end I just went with a gray I had that looks silver for the outline of the…whatever this silver container thingy is.  I had just enough floss to finish it, phew. For the spoon and fork, I decided to go with a darker grayish blue. What do you think so far?

I just don’t know how I feel about those colors, but am totally lost as to what other colors would be better choices. SIGH. Anyway, the rest of the day was spent practicing guitar at my friend’s house while he tried to practice drums…it was fun. He has a super cute one-year old who would get upset if we stopped paying attention to him for any amount of time, further proof that babies are probably too much work for me. We made a very yummy Spicy Chili Mac for lunch, but I will post about the recipe later today, my fingers hurt from all the stitching yesterday, and typing doesn’t feel too good right now. I am going to an allegedly amazing ramen place for lunch today, and I WILL remember my camera and take pictures. Also getting a haircut at a new place today, so cross those fingers!

Oh, I totally forgot to post about this two days ago. I FINALLY signed up for an Etsy account, because I just had to have something from this shop. I ended up buying the PDF file coloring book because I think the pages would make excellent embroidery patterns. Clever, no? Also, I have discovered some of the cutest stuff over on Etsy lately, like this shop and this shop. I also stumbled across a fellow embroiderer’s blog in which she posted about getting a crazy deal on a mountain of floss. It sounded too good to be true, but it wasn’t! So, I should have a mountain of floss arriving at my door in about a week, and it only cost me $15.00! And the best part is (besides the cheapness of course) that the floss come on bobbins already…love it. So, we’ll see how it goes. Til tonight…

Til tonight…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 8:53 pm

    I think this pattern is lovely and that you are doing great with the colors !!! It will turned out lovely !!!
    Those Etsy links are awesome… I’ve being eyeing one of them for a while, “A little sweetness”.
    And I’m also contemplating getting this coloring book to use it for embroidery as well !
    link: http://www.redvelvetart.com/children/elsie-coloringbook … she also sells pdf
    embroidery patterns: http://www.redvelvetart.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=embroidery+patterns … I love
    the birdie one and the zoo one !
    Oh… and am adding your blog link to my list ! 🙂

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 15, 2010 9:38 pm

      Red Velvet Art has some great stuff! I love the idea of using the coloring book for embroidery patterns, I think they are cuter than the patterns they’re selling. You’ll have to post about it if you buy it and start stitching something!

Leave a Reply

