Skip to content

Day 38: Back on track with Alice & thoughts about life

February 11, 2010

***I started this post too late at night last night, so I am finishing up and posting this morning 😦 ***

So, after my minor (o.k., maybe it was more major than minor) freakout about my Alice piece, I got some great feedback from a fellow stitcher that has put me back on track. Yay!  If you read the comments on the previous post, you will see that some great suggestions were made, including ripping out the trim of the dress and filling in the blue part of the dress. Here’s what I accomplished today before running out of the blue floss I was using:

Eric accompanied me to Michael’s (well, he went in Best Buy while I was in there) so I could get more floss. Yay for floss! My list for today was a modest one:

So…I did not: find a dentist, figure out a color scheme for the “silver” piece (but I did ask for help on flickr!), read the Bible, or apply for a job…that really makes it seem like I didn’t do much today. BUT: I did finish The Adoration of Jenna Fox, which was really really good, and I highly recommend. It’s a really fast read, too, and I like that. We had such lovely sunshine today, so I knew I had to go outside. For my workout today, I went on a new-fashioned nature walk, taking pictures of things I found inspiring. (NOTE: I could not get all the pictures into this post, so please visit my flickr nature walk set to view my pictures with comments, if your’e so inclined). I brought with me a bag filled with: camera, phone, water, pencil, and sketch pad. At some point, I had some thoughts that I paused to jot down while on my walk. Here they are:

1. It’s perfectly sunny out, but someone still has a fire going on inside. (This is a great thought, right? I found it so bizarre that it was almost hot outside in the sun, but someone was keeping their house all closed up and cold inside so that they needed a fire. It made me think of how sometimes in our lives, things are going really well/we have many blessings, but all we can think about are the hard things, so we keep ourselves in mental state of trying to fix it, when in reality things aren’t so bad and might even be great….it’s all about perspective (or the lack thereof I guess).

2. I caught an old man peeing outside. He didn’t seem embarrassed, so it was o.k. (This was just funny and has never happened to me before. I was taken aback at first, but he didn’t seem to be phased by it, probably because he was old and had peed outside many times before and had been seen a few times doing it, so he was like “well, whatever, I’m old.” So, because he acted like it was normal, he made me feel like it was normal. Funny how that works, huh?

3. If I had my own backyard, I would like it to be fenced in chicken wire — just enough to keep the foxes out. (Someone had a beautiful backyard that they fenced in with chicken wire. I really appreciated that because a lot of people who live on the greenbelt fence the hell out of their backyards so that people can’t see into them and their homes. I like the idea of letting people in, letting them see what you worked so hard to create, makes you feel like you’re not a stranger even just passing by. But you don’t want random people wandering in and you need protection from the crazies…)

4. It takes very little to make me feel comfortable with myself. Also very little to make me feel uncomfortable with myself. (All I have to do to feel comfortable walking around alone is to listen to music. Music puts you in a particular mood, can inspire confidence, and give you something to focus on besides yourself…which, if you’re self-conscious like me, is a very good thing. So, it takes almost nothing at all to make me feel confident, just an iPod. However, take that away, and I’m just a lonely girl wandering around, wondering what the people passing by are thinking of me…)

5. When/if I have my own house, I would like to have too many windows. (I like windows…Although, I am reconsidering this because of all the window-washing.)

6. It’s perfectly normal if I say it is. (This goes back to the self-conscious thing. When I go on walks/runs, I wear these huge headphones that Eric uses for playing electric guitar so I don’t have to listen to it. They are silly looking, but I can’t do earbuds, they fall out. And, since I need the music, I have to wear the silly headphones. I once tried to cover them up with a hat, but that looked even sillier. Maybe it looks abnormal to other people whose ears can hold in tiny little ridiculous earbud thingies, but it’s normal for me because I say it is. If you are confident about what you’re doing, everyone else will buy into it, too.)

O.k., that’s all my “deep thoughts” for the day. I made Spicy Squash Chili for dinner, another R.R. recipe which can be found here.  It’s a vegetarian dish, but we added ground beef (because Eric likes meat). Last time we made it we added ground turkey, and either choice is good. You will need:

1 or 2 small large acorn squash, about 2 lbs, cut into quarters and seeded

3 dried red chiles

Boiling water

1 teaspoon chili powder

3 poblano chiles (make it four, the more the merrier!)

3 Tablespoons olive oil (you don’t really need that much, especially if you’re adding meat to the dish)

1 large onion, chopped fine

1 tablespoon fresh oregano (you can use dried, I did! But only use 1/4-1/2 the amount)

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 sour cream (we used non-fat, surprise, surprise)

**Optional: LEAN ground turkey or beef**

Salt & Pepper (duh)

1. Preheat broiler, and throw in your poblano chiles on a cookie sheet. You will roast these guys until charred all over, all told it takes about 30 minutes, flipping every 10 minutes or so:

About 10 minutes into your poblano broiling, cut up the squash, put into a microwave safe covered dish and cook on high for 10 minutes:

WHILST you are doing this (now you have poblanos in the oven and squash in the microwave…are you with me??), boil your water and pour over dried red chiles:

Your poblanos will finish, set them aside to cool off. Your squash is still going and your red chiles are just about done. I use a ramekin to weigh the chiles down in the water and cover with plastic wrap. O.k., so your squash finishes. Scoop out the flesh and transfer to a food processor. When your red chiles finish, cut the tops off, cut them open with kitchen scissors and de-seed. Then, throw them into the food processor with squash, along with the chili powder:

Process until smooth!

Now cut the tops off the poblanos, cut open with kitchen scissors and de-seed. Chop them up and put then in a bowl with the squash puree, beans, and oregano:

You are now ready to start cooking on the stove, huzzah! Sautee onion for about 3 minutes, then add meat (if using):

When the meat is cooked, add bowl of bean, squash and oregano, and 1 cup of water to pot and simmer for 15 minutes:

Add sour cream:

You MUST make corn muffins to go with:

Enjoy:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:59 am

    Man, that chili looks awesome. I have no idea about what’s proper stitching or anything, but I really like what you are doing with Alice. It’s different. All the French knots for the apron! I want to touch them.

  2. Peggy E permalink
    February 11, 2010 2:00 pm

    We go to Thomas Dental on Sycamore/Drake and like them! Don’t know if your insurance would cover them but maybe check them out!

Leave a Reply

