Skip to content

Day 37: Unsure about Alice …

February 9, 2010

I’m writing my post super early today, at 5 p.m. because LOST is on tonight, so if I don’t do it now before Eric comes home it probably wouldn’t get done. I got up super early today at 6:30 a.m. shortly after Eric got up for work. Lately I’ve been asking him to call the house at 8 a.m so I can be sure that I get out of bed at a decent hour instead of rolling over and going back to sleep til 9:30 or something ridiculous, which has happened a few times because the flannel sheets and down comforter can be just SO inviting when it’s 55 degrees inside your house… I did not make a very ambitious list today:

The only things on the list that I did not do were “clean bathroom” and “vacuum” because they are typically Eric’s chores and he said last night that he would do them when he got home today, so o.k., I’ll take it! Oops, I lied, I did not “work & take shower” either…it was so gray and rainy that I just couldn’t get motivated. I managed to apply for a job today that I would really like to have, a friend emailed me about it, and I happen to know the agency and some of its staff, so hopefully I’ll get a positive response next week. A totally unplanned treat was that I got to hang out with one of my best girlfriends who is a new mommy so hang out time is kind of sparse lately. We packed up the kid and drove to a couple of places. It was super fun. Also, have I mentioned before that her baby (my “nephew”) is like, the cutest baby ever? I think I have… Apparently to calm newborns down when they get fussy, you are supposed to jiggle them and go “SHHHH!!!” in their ear, it soothes them and reminds them of the womb….or something.I have learned to do this since I’ve babysat a few times.  So today when we were driving he started fussing in the back seat and we both automatically went “SHHHHHHH!!!!” in the middle of our conversation several times as we were driving along.  It was pretty funny, but it worked. SIGH….babies. ***NO, I’m not preggers, please take a deep breath, calm yourselves, and try to restrain yourselves from starting all the facebook rumors I know you’re itching to instigate…****   I worked on Alice for a teensy bit this morning, finished up her hair, headband, and the trim on her dress:

I’m not sure about a couple things…I’m not sure that I like how I used a different stitch on the upper part of her pinafore than the skirt part. Should the WHOLE pinafore be french knots? I sort of think the continuity would look better, but DEAR GOD, the idea of more french knots makes my fingers ache…Also, the headband. The tiniest of satin stitches…does it look weird? I kind of think it looks weird.  And should I fill in her skin? The dress? With blue split stitches to match the outline? And would that look weird next to all the french knots? I’m not sure I like the orangey color I chose for the dress trim…is it too close to the flesh tone? See, too many things to wonder about. But I don’t want to go on, put in more hours of work only to decide I don’t like it…right? Thoughts? Please leave me comments with your thoughts! In happier news, I found a really cute set of free Valentines patterns that I wish I had found earlier so I could stitch and send to my friends. Here’s an example:

You can get the whole set (for free) here from Craftyminx. Love it. Alas, I did not discover this earlier, so maybe next year. I did fine a really cute vintage series (see the first three listed) on the Hoop Love Vintage Transfers flickr group:

Cute, right? I figure they will make a good belated birthday/Mother’s Day gift. I will either send them hoop-framed or just send the fabric squares and let her decide how to frame. My mom likes cute old-fashioned stuff, so I figure she will like these.  Since I gave Alice a rest today, I transferred the Silver pattern onto some fabric using transfer paper and a stylus, then outlined with a pencil since the transfer tends to rub off while you’re working with it:

I found some good guitar chords sites and printed a Nickelcreek song to practice on. Chords are pretty easy, but I need Eric to help me with strum patterns. Also, anyone have any suggestions for a good TV series to watch while I stitch? OH: started a REALLY GOOD book today that my friend April lent me, called The Adoration of Jenna Fox, which my very bookish friend Jen reviewed on her awesome book blog here. It’s about bioethics, ethics in medicine, etc…read Jen’s review, it’s much better than anything I could say about the book. If you are looking for a good read, you should just read her blog because it’s the best. Also, she sometimes posts pictures of her adorable baby boy, so bonus points!  🙂  Oh, and also:

LOVE my kitty … Til tomorrow…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. georgia permalink
    February 9, 2010 11:29 pm

    If I were stitching this I would fill her dress (I usually use backstitch as a filling stitch, and it would look good with the french knots). I wouldn’t fill her skin. The trim on the dress does look very similar to her skin tone. I would unpick that part and then do it after I had filled the dress, over the top of your filling stitch.
    Of course I am no expert and you don’t have to listen to a word I say. 😉

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 10, 2010 8:59 am

      Thanks for the suggestions, Georgia, those sound like great ideas and I feel motivated to get back to Alice now!

  2. February 10, 2010 7:41 am

    Yay for cat pictures! Oh, and thanks for the link love.

  3. February 10, 2010 1:55 pm

    Okay, lady, I think I need to start using your scheme of making a list of what to do each day. There is too much going on!

    • rabbitreader permalink*
      February 10, 2010 2:37 pm

      It’s so simple, right, but it makes such a big difference…just don’t put too much on your list and don’t put anything you really DON”T want to do, don’t want to set yourself up for failure. In your case (where you are really busy and just need organization), I don’t know if listing will give you the same kind of satisfaction as it does me. For me, because my life is so boring right now, listing gives me a sense of purpose and accomplishment. Try it though, and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

