Skip to content

Day 36: Spending time with Alice…

February 8, 2010

More and more evidence of spring today:

And this is just in our backyard. We were thinking of doing a garden back there, but the thought of ripping out all that clover and stuff is more than a bit daunting. Also, we might not be here for the harvest, so probably won’t plant anything. I made a pretty ambitious to-do list today:

I did not do all of this, but I did add some stuff that I did do, including: “organize bookmarks” and “clean out inbox.” Those things have been bugging me forever, so I’m glad I just went ahead and took the time to do them. I did not practice guitar (but I did sing while Eric played), apply for a job (I didn’t find any good ones), help cook dinner (I cooked lunch instead! pictures below), or start a birthday project for my mom’s belated birthday present (I could always just give her the Alice project, but I don’t want to!). I tried to sketch one of my embroidery design ideas, but I don’t like it so I’m not going to share it. For lunch I made an interesting little casserole from a Rachael Ray (boo hiss, whatever) magazine, a Chicken Spinach Tortilla Casserole. You need this stuff:

Ingredients:

1.5 lbs chicken (more than what’s pictured here. The recipe calls for 4 cutlets, but I used 2 giant breasts and cut them in half, like so:)

1/2 a red onion, sliced thin

3 cups baby spinach (my husband was insubordinate and bought regular, grrrrr….)

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups shredded cheese (recipe calls for Jack, but I used “Mexican” cause that’s what we had)

3/4 cup ricotta cheese (recipe calls for full fat, so I told Eric low fat, so of course he bought non-fat….it worked)

1 and 1/2 cups green salsa

4 large flour tortilla, cut into wedges (quarters)

1. Preheat oven to 450. Cook chicken over medium-high heat in a skillet for about 5 minutes:

While chicken is cooking, combine ricotta cheese and green salsa:

Looks gross, huh?

2. Shred the chicken:

3. Spread 1/3 salsa/ricotta mixture in bottom of a greased 9X9 pan (you can use a bigger casserole, R.R. recipes tend to make more than they say they will, and mine was kinda overflowing and I didn’t use all the spinach and onion), tortillas, chicken, onion, spinach and pepper jack; repeat twice. Bake until golden-brown, 15 to 20 minutes. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Before the oven:

And after:

I failed to get a good picture of it on the plate…the lighting was weird. Eric made some kind of shrimp curried noodle thingy, which I did not photo document because I didn’t participate in the cooking, but here it is:

It was….interesting. I made some good progress on Alice today, finished filling in the skirt portion of the pinafore with french knots (that took FOREVER), outlined her arms and face (don’t like how the face came out, but not sure how to do it better), and did almost all the hair:

Close up:

Til tomorrow…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

