Skip to content

Day 32: That’s why we can’t have nice things…

February 4, 2010

So I got up at a decent hour today, 8 a.m. So I went ahead and made my list:

  • Read Bible & start journal
  • Update blog
  • Workout
  • Shower
  • Finish project
  • Practice guitar & singing
  • Job search
  • Apply for one job
  • Prep dinner

I am happy to say that I accomplished everything on the list! Yay! So the title of this post is because of this:

This is Amelia, on top of a pillow, on top of the dining room table. There is only ONE place in the whole house where Amelia is not “allowed” to be, and that’s on top of the dining room table. So naturally, the table is her favorite place to be. Now, I will grant putting a pillow on top of the table is just inviting trouble, but it’s Eric’s “old man pillow,” he uses it to sit in the dining room chairs because they are terribly uncomfortable and have no lower back support. Also, today I ironed something and not 10 freaking seconds after I turned the iron off, Amelia is on top of the ironing board, with the hot iron. Of course, the ironing board is wobbly, so she gets freaked out, jumps off, and the whole shebang comes crashing down. Nice. And that’s why we can’t have nice things….or really any things at all I guess…

In other news, I decided that the Black Apple wall hanging is finished:

This is the whole thing. I couldn’t take a picture in nice outdoor lighting because it’s been raining all day 😦 I think I posted about how I came up with the design before, but I’ll recap anyway. I used the Black Apple and the Dutch Russian patterns from Sublime Stitching. If you look at the Black Apple pattern, you’ll notice I didn’t use all the different patterns on the sheet, and that I created my own design using different elements of the pattern sheet. I did that by using tracing paper to create my own pattern:

I used transfer paper to transfer the pattern onto the wall-hanging and stitched. I decided after I finished stitching the pattern that it needed something more. So…I pulled out my Dutch Russian pattern and transferred part of the heart/leaf motif pattern on the sheet. I think it worked out pretty well:

I free-handed “April” onto the banner instead of stitching the “Hello” that’s on the pattern. It’s for April, so I think it should say April…also, April is just a pretty word. I used split stitch for the banner and the leaves of the heart/leaf vine thingy. I used back stitch for the letters, the bee, the vine, the birds, the hedgie’s outline, part of the bunny, and some elements of the little girl. French knots were used for eyes, and satin stitch was used for the hearts, the hedgie’s hat, and parts of the bunny.

Oh, the houses… much scallop stitching for the roofs, and back stitch, and french knots. The second house has an entire roof of french knots. I just thought it would be fun and look interesting texturally; what do you think? I hope April likes. I had a really fun “girl date” with my friend Bryn (the one who revolutionized my life with her list advice) at the super awesome La Chicana Mexican Food and Pupuseria in Woodland. I had a bean and cheese pupusa and a revuelta (pork and cheese) pupusa, and I ate it ALL. It was SO GOOD. BUT: I forgot my camera….FAIL. So, that just means we have to go back! For dinner we made the super yummy Sweet Chili Glazed Tofu and Bok Choy that I blogged about before, but this time I will share with you the recipe and steps so you can make it yourself. Yay!

You will need:

1 14 oz. block of firm tofu, cut into 1 in sticks

1/4 cup Asian sweet chili sauce

2 TB soy sauce

1 TB fresh minced ginger

1/2 Cup corn starch

1/2 Cup vegetable oil

1 head bok choy, leaves chopped and stalks sliced thin (separate these!)

6 garlic cloves, sliced THIN

1. Cut tofu planks into 2 by 1 inch pieces and place on paper towel to drain for 15 minutes, pat dry if you’re in a hurry. Whisk chili sauce, tofu, ginger, and 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch in small bowl and set aside:

2. Heat 1 TB oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Add bok choy and cook until just tender, about 3 minutes. Add greens and cook until wilted, about 2 minutes. Drain in colander. (no picture of this part, sorry!)

3. Add remaining oil and garlic to pan and cook until garlic is golden, about 2 minutes.

Use slotted spoon to set garlic aside on a paper towel lined plate.

4. Spread remaining cornstarch in shallow plate. Pat tofu dry and season with salt and pepper. Dredge tofu in cornstarch.

Cook tofu in garlic oil, turning occasionally, until golden, about 8 minutes.

Pour oil from pan. Add chili sauce mixture and bok choy to skillet and toss to combine:

Serve topped with garlic slices:

YUMS. So, now I don’t really know what to stitch next… Also, I applied to a job today that sounds really awesome. Finger crossed and prayers. I got emails about two jobs I applied for two months ago saying they don’t want me…oh well. Til tomorrow…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

