Skip to content

Day 30 (con’t): 1st day of a new way

February 2, 2010

Today I tried something new with my unemployed life: I made a list of what I wanted to accomplish for the day and I did it. So simple, yet so rewarding. Good things happened today, and I don’t think it’s coincidental. My list for the day looked like this:

February 2

  • Make dentist appointment
  • Clean kitchen
  • STITCH
  • Apply for one job
  • Vaccuum
  • Take recycling bin in
  • Cook veggie chili for dinner
  • Start a new book
  • Work out & take a shower
  • Go OUTSIDE
  • Read the Bible
  • Play guitar
  • Talk to someone about their life after small group
  • Update blog

I accomplished everything on the list except starting a new book and making a dentist appointment. I did TRY to make a dentist appointment, but then I found out that the dentist I wanted to go to did not accept my insurance. So, one of tomorrow’s goals will be: find new dentist. There was a small caveat for the “job hunt & apply for one job” item. I did look for jobs on-line but did not apply for any, HOWEVER: I have an interview tomorrow, so I figured I could cross it off in good conscience. Right after my post this morning, I went for a jog/walk on the greenbelt. I hate running, but I made myself jog as much as possible (until I felt like puking). I highly recommend Lady Gaga for jogging, especially the song “Alejandro,” which is basically the Ace of Base song “Don’t Turn Around” redone. It started to rain while I was out there, so I hurried up and ran home. When I got home, my endorphins were all kicked in so I brought the trash in, cleaned the kitchen and took a shower…BOOM BOOM BOOM, that was like 5 things off my list. I had a very enjoyable and unplanned lunch with my friend Poshi who I met in the non-profit, project coordinator world that I until very recently inhabited. It was fun to catch up. When I got back from that, I dug out the last song I was working on on the guitar and played for about 20 minutes:

I play this Capo 7, which is pretty far down on the fret board…kinda painful 😦 Yah, I pretty much sucked, but it was fun; I love this song and it feels good to have finally found the right key for me…Jeff Buckley plays it in a ridiculously high key. I ended up cooking the veggie chili around 2:30 or 3. It’s super fast and tasty, also from the America’s Test Kitchen 30-minute suppers book. You will need:

2 15 oz. cans of your choice of beans (I used black and pinto), drained and rinsed

1 onion, chopped fine

2 TB vegetable oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

I 14 oz. can diced “Mexican-style” tomatoes, run through a food processor or blender until coarsely chopped

2 TB chili powder

1 TSP cumin

1 TB chipotle chiles in adobo sauce (they come whole in the can, so run them through the food processor. You can freeze the rest for later).

1 Cup frozen corn

Sliced avocado, shredded “Mexican” cheese, chopped cilantro and sour cream for toppings.

1. Heat oil in a dutch over on medium-high heat. Brown onions, about 5 minutes.

2. Add garlic and spices to onions, cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

3. Add tomatoes, spices, and chipotle chile and simmer over medium heat for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, add corn and simmer for 2 minutes until corn is heated through.

4. Top with avocado, sour cream, cheese & cilantro:

YUM. Eric likes to have lots of food options in the fridge, to wit:

I finished the additions I added to the wall-hanging yesterday:

Eric says it’s done now, but I think I’m going to put in a little border under the houses….THEN it will be done and on it’s way to Aprils. I have some kind of job interview thingy tomorrow afternoon, so . . . we’ll see what happens. Til tomorrow…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

