Skip to content

Day 30: Today = a new approach to life.

February 2, 2010

It is 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday morning and I am excited to start the day. I have had a change in perspective in the last couple of days through a variety of circumstances and people and have come to the realization (some of you may say “DUH!”) that I am supposed to live for TODAY. Not last week, not for “the future,” but for today. I am not going to get, as my friend Erin might say “all Jesus-y” on y’all in this post, suffice it to say that I have come to understand that Jesus wants me to live for today. Every day is a fresh start and I am not to be worried about anything that happened in the past or anything that will happen in the future because that gets me NOWHERE today. So, no more waiting for something to happen. No more waiting for Eric to get a job. I don’t know how long it’s going to take for him to find a job, no less a job that he wants, so I’m not going to rest on my laurels with the excuse that there’s no point to me looking because I don’t know when we’re going to have to pack up and move. So what if I start something new and then have to leave, it will be O.K., and at least I will have learned something new in the meantime. Yesterday my friend (who will remain nameless because I don’t know if she’d want to be mentioned) blew my mind a little bit by answering my “what are you doing” question with this response “figuring out what to do with my life.” WHAT?! How do you even go about doing that? If she had some kind of secret, I had to know, so I asked her how she did that. She said it was simple, she decided what she should do with her life TODAY and then did it. She makes a list of things (goals) she wants to accomplish for the day, and then she tries to do those things. She put stuff like “take a shower,” “email _____.” Take a shower, I can do that! Amazing. I’m not being sarcastic. Shut up, I really am not. I have made lists at work before of things that I need to get done, and I’ve made lists of chores for the weekend, and I’ve made grocery lists…but I’ve never made a life list for today before. I love it. So, today I got up at 8 a.m. (early for me these days), excited to decide what I wanted to do with my life today. And here is my list:

February 2

  • Make dentist appointment
  • Clean kitchen
  • STITCH
  • Apply for one job
  • Vaccuum
  • Take recycling bin in
  • Cook veggie chili for dinner
  • Start a new book
  • Work out & take a shower
  • Go OUTSIDE
  • Read the Bible
  • Play guitar
  • Talk to someone about their life after small group
  • Update blog

You’ll see it’s a mix of things that need to be done and things I want to do, which I think is good. Some things on there I could just leave for Eric to do, like vacuum, bring recycling bin in and cook dinner, but I know he would really appreciate it if they were done already when he gets home from work, so I am going to do them. I am probably being overly ambitious with this list, but it’s my first today list, and it’s o.k. if I don’t get to everything. ALSO: when I checked my email about 1/2 an hour ago, I had an email from an executive director of a non-profit agency I worked with at my last job (not the agency I worked for), telling me she had a job for me, and if I was interested, could I come in and see her tomorrow afternoon? It may not be exactly what I want, but I am o.k. with that, so I said YES. I don’t know if it’s part time or full-time, but it’s something, and something is always better than nothing. Also, because of where I live in Davis, which is right on the green belt, going outside is awesome because I get to see stuff like this:

This is my favorite house in town because it reminds me of New Mexico. Not the architecture, but the paint colors and the pottery. All that brilliant blue everywhere. I don’t know if I’d put giant ceramic lizards on my house, but it works for this house. And the potted plants hanging in the tree…love, love. This house is inspiring because it looks totally different from any other house on the block, and from any other house in town, and the owners are o.k. with that. They did what they wanted because they liked it and aren’t worried about what anyone thinks. My kind of people. I am hoping it doesn’t rain so I can go for a walk because the greenbelt is so lush right now:

“Update blog” is at the bottom of my list, so I will be back tonight with a recap of my life unemployed TODAY, and how I did on my list. I think I like the list better than the stats…perhaps the stats will go away, they were rather depressing even if they were entertaining.  Til tonight…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

