Skip to content

Day 29: When you’re in a stitch, chocolate does the trick…

February 1, 2010

Yesterday Eric and I (well, mostly Eric) talked about how I should be looking more seriously for at least part-time employment because it may take SEVERAL (as in up to 5) months for him to get a job. He talked to someone at one of the places he applied to today and they said it typically takes SEVERAL months for their recruiter to get back to applicants. While I understand this, I also want to call these people and be like “Do you even know how awesome my husband is?! He has skills, people, SKILLS…and he will evaluate the HECK out of any program you throw at him! He will design the HECK out of any study you put in front of him!” Seriously though, my husband is so incredibly smart, talented, and just all around awesome, I am just a little bit shocked that these places aren’t just snapping him up immediately. But I know some company is going to and then all the rest will be sorry, and I won’t feel sorry for them, oh no, no I won’t.

……………………. Anyway ………………….. Today I did something unexpected and fun. I tagged along with my friend Brynn to the Grace House operated by Grace In Action in Davis. It’s a place where the homeless of Davis can come hang out, eat lunch, and relax. It felt good to do something social worky again and I’m excited to go back. Before I did that, though, I made that thing I posted about last time into a mutant nacho creation:

Extra cheese, melted, and non-fat sour cream and a smashed avocado on top with chips=YUMS. Eric said this on Friday, and I believe it to be true, a way should be found to incorporate chorizo into every meal. Word. There is no smell so heavenly. There is also no food that likes to “talk” to you so much throughout the day as chorizo does. SIGH. You have to take the bad with the good. After I got back from the Grace House I pondered what needed to be added to the wall-hanging for April. I finished everything I originally transferred, but I thought it could use something more, so I decided to add a piece of the Dutch Russian pattern from Sublime Stitching.  I added some of the vine pieces with the heart at the end, you can kind of see it here:

I think it’s still going to need something . . . I will figure something out. OH! Yesterday morning I totally burned the CRAP out of my tongue. I filled my travel mug up with just boiled hot water from the electric kettle at church. I usually mix 1/2 hot water with 1/2 room temp. water because hot water helps the vocal chords, but yesterday right before church I forgot the 1/2 room temp. water. I absent-mindedly took a sip from my mug expecting the usual warm water, but it was SCALDING. I spit water EVERYWHERE. It hurt so bad I wasn’t even embarrassed. My friend Curtis saw and he went “What are you doing?!” I said “I burned my tongue!” and he went “Oh, I thought you were going to barf…” I’m not sure which would be worse, at least barfing doesn’t really hurt. My tongue STILL hurts right now. It hurt so bad I got tears in my eyes and I had to leave the room. Yikes. So, I haven’t done this in a while:

People I talked to today besides my husband: at least 15 people

Number of places gone to today (this is new): 2

Today’s pair of pj’s = no pj’s today!!!

Showers taken = 1

TV watched today = Ugly Betty, 3 episodes

Minutes spent in the Hazzard dojo = 0

Jobs applied for = 0

Stitching project = Black Apple banner for April

My friend Bre came over on Saturday and started a stitching project. I hope she likes stitching, it would be fun to have another stitching buddy. Right now I only have one stitching buddy, and we have been having a good time on Friday nights stitching at her house. For dinner today Eric made Skillet Chicken Tetrazzini:

I am including the recipe for Candace, because I know her man wants some chicken noodle action!

Ingredients:

2 TB unsalted butter

1 onion, chopped fine

10 oz. white or cremini mushrooms, sliced thin

2 Cup chicken broth

1 Cup 1/2 and 1/2

4 Cups egg noodles

1 rotisserie chicken, meat shredded into bite-sized pieces (about 3 cups)

1 Cup frozen peas

1 TB lemon juice

1 TSP minced fresh thyme (I used 1/2 tsp dried)

salt and pepper

1. Melt butter in large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook onion and mushrooms until golden brown, about 8 minutes. Transfer to bowl.

2. Bring broth, half-and-half, and noodles to a boil in empty pan. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, until noodles are tender and liquid is slightly thickened, 8 -10 minutes.

3. Add chicken, peas, lemon juice, thyme, and onion mixture, along with any accumulated juices, to skillet and cook until heated through, about 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

BOOM. Super dooper easy, and tasty. As I was working on my stitching tonight, my stem stitch looked all kinds of crappy, and I just got frustrated and ripped all my stitches out. I was just feeling so unsatisfied and annoyed that I can never seem to get the stupid stem stitch quite right. I don’t know about you, but when I’m feeling frustrated, I tend to do something like this:

All that is is a boxed brownie mix that I added chopped walnuts to and served warm with caramel syrup on top. So simple, and yet, so satisfying. Also, I decided to screw the stem stitch and replace it with an outlined satin stitch. I also changed my mind on the color, so THERE. TAKE THAT, stem stitch. I don’t need you and your tomfoolery anyway. Til next time…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hazzard permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:48 pm

    Thanks for the shout out!

  2. Peggy E permalink
    February 2, 2010 5:35 pm

    Mouth watering…

Leave a Reply

