Skip to content

Day 27: I hate JoAnn’s

January 30, 2010

Yesterday was Friday, and I was determined to kick my stitchery up a notch, which in this case meant getting some different fabric to work with because the cross-stitch stuff just wasn’t cutting it–both in terms of appearance and workability (is that a word?). Unfortunately the only place nearby to get fabric is JoAnn’s in Woodland. This was my second trip to JoAnn’s in Woodland, and, much like my first trip, it was just…SLOW. I don’t know if this is how all JoAnn’s are (I hear that it’s NOT how all JoAnn’s are), but at this location, you must WAIT in line for an average of 20 minutes to get your fabric cut, and then once you’ve accomplished that, you must WAIT in the check-out line for another 20 minutes. Seriously, I got TWO things and we were in there for 40 minutes. RIDICULOUS. So, that was the bad part. The good part is that I got some fabric that I really like and that is good for stitching. Also, I got a floss organizer…..BEHOLD:

No more plastic baggies, huzzah! I started a new project just for funsies because this free pattern was just too cute to resist:

In case you were wondering: how do you get the pattern onto the fabric/surface you’re going to stitch on?, I will tell you. There are several ways, but I will explain the way the above picture illustrates, you lay down your fabric, lay a piece of transfer paper on top of the fabric chalky side down (transfer paper is a colored piece of paper that has a smooth side and a chalky side), then place your pattern top of transfer paper, and use a stylus (or pen or pencil, but stylus is much better in my opinion) to trace the outline of the pattern. The chalky side of the transfer paper rubs the outline of your pattern onto the fabric and VIOLA:

I love this pattern, a Valentines bee creature…”Bee Mine.” Cute, cute. It was a super quick project that I finished up at my other super stitchy friend Mel’s (yes, her name is also Mel, which is why we call each other “other Mel”) house last night at our second informal stitch-n-bitch party (can you call it a party if there’s only two people there?). Here’s how it turned out:

Doesn’t this fabric look so much nicer than the cross-stitch?:

We made a dish that I have been wanting to try since we got the America’s Test Kitchen 30-Minute Suppers Winter 2010 cookbook…Black Bean and Chorizo Enfrijoladas! Refried beans and chorizo, what’s not to love?! This recipe is incredibly simple and has only a few ingredients:

All you need is: 8 oz. chorizo (I used pork chorizo and I used 10 oz. because that’s how much there was in the package); 2 16 oz. cans black refried beans; 1 1/4 cups chicken broth; 2 TB lime juice (but you can use more, I did…I like limes!); 2 garlic cloves minced; 1 tsp. chili powder; salt & pepper; 12 6-in corn tortillas; 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (any kind will do, I recommend the “Mexican” blend). Start by cooking your chorizo in a skillet until browned (it’s hard to tell when chorizo is “browned” because, well, it’s red, about 5 minutes will do the trick):

Meanwhile, combine the beans, garlic, lime juice, chili powder and chicken broth in a large bowl:

Cover with plastic wrap and microwave for four minutes. I forgot to add the chicken broth (because I have problems following directions…remember the drunken carrots?!) and had to pull the beans out of the microwave and add it. That’s why the beans look so thick in this pictures. After the beans are heated through, stack your tortillas on a plate and microwave for one minute. Spread 1/2 cup of the bean mixture in a 13X9 in. casserole dish. Dip each tortilla in the bean mixture, fold in quarters, and lay in the casserole dish. Then, top the tortillas with the remaining bean mixture:

Top this with chorizo and cheese:

Cover with foil and pop in a 450 degree oven for about 15 minutes (or until cheese is melted and casserole is heated through):

Plate it up and chow down!:

I admit it looks kinda weird, but tastes so yummy! I had to get a bit more…tasty! Eric bought some tortilla chips and avocados and plans on making some kind of mutant nacho thing with this for lunch today. I’ll have to take a picture of that, should be….interesting. And tasty. The sun is shining today and I am excited about that! Til tomorrow…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 2:12 pm

    Part of the problem may be that almost everything in Woodland is sort of ghetto…

    Seriously, though, it isn’ like that at most JoAnns, at least not any of the ones I’ve been to.

Trackbacks

  1. Day 29: When you’re in stitch, chocolate does the trick… «

Leave a Reply

