Skip to content

Day 26: Revelations about fabric

January 28, 2010

Today I finished up the wall-hanging for my friend’s birthday that I posted about yesterday. It was a pretty quick project, and my favorite part was definitely picking the colors…so colorful:

And a close-up:

This is going to stay in the hoop and can be hung on the wall. This project also led me to some realizations about fabric for these kinds of stay-in-the-hoop projects. I used what was at Michael’s, which was cross-stitch backing fabric. It was o.k. to work with, but it doesn’t stretch easily and doesn’t really look all that great. After looking online at other people’s work on fabric, I think I need to acquire some linen fabrics to work on. They look much neater, no big holes like the cross-stitch fabric. I got to hang out with my “nephew” Isaac again today, which was awesome. For dinner I cooked up a Quick Beef Provencal with mashed potatoes. I goofed up on cooking the carrots:

I was supposed to use 1 TB of wine to steam the carrots in the microwave, but I misread and used 1 cup. Ooops. It turned out fine. Drunken carrots! 😉 Here’s some of the other ingredients:

And since I was cooking with wine…

Simmering:

I failed to get a good picture of it in the bowl:

I am going to finish up the wall-hanging for Ms. April and then after that…??? Perhaps I will take a trip to JoAnn’s tomorrow and see if I can score some linen. Going over to stitch at a friend’s house tomorrow night, fun fun. On a completely unrelated note, I just caught a glimpse of Taylor Swift on TV while Eric was flipping channels (my pet peeve by the way), and I just wanted to say, in case you didn’t know, that I cannot stand that chick. Her music sucks. That is all. Super fun stuff planned for Saturday: my friend Bre is rollin into town and we are going kitty shopping at the SPCA adoptions at Petco and also doing some stitch instruction..yay yay yay. Til tomorrow…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

