Skip to content

Days 19-21 of unemployment: Rain, rain, go away…

January 23, 2010

Today was the first time Davis has seen the sun all week. It has been non-stop rain for DAYS, and it was nice to have a break from that. I discovered a great new TV show that I love: Friday Night Lights. I am learning about football…scary. But, it is a teen drama, which is right up my alley. Also, the boys in that show are super cute, so…I’m o.k. with all the football stuff. Thursday night I was possessed by a need to bake, so I sent Eric to the store to pick up some ingredients for a brownie cake. I took pictures while baking. Here’s what four eggs and two cups of sugar look like:

Next you melt two sticks of butter (yikes!) on the stove and combine with 2/3 cup cocoa powder:

After mixing the egg mixture with your dry ingredients, add the chocolate mixture in:

Isn’t that pretty? I thought so. Pop the batter in your cake pan, bake, and BOOM:

Brownie cake. I recommend serving warm and with ice cream! Use the recipe that’s linked above, it’s super easy to follow and very tasty. Also, I thought I read somewhere that if you’re using Kosher salt you should use a bit more because it’s not as “salty” as table salt. So, I used a TEENSY bit more salt for this recipe, and it ended up tasting slightly salty. Not bad, but I don’t think that you need to use more salt if you use Kosher. Oh well. Yesterday I got a super cute new pattern in the mail from Sublime Stitching that I ordered last week, the Black Apple pattern. I used tracing paper to create a design for that wall hanging that April sent me in the mail this week, and here’s what I came up with:

Thankfully, one of my friends pointed out to me last night at our first Stitch-n-Bitch party that my “hello” at the top of the design was backwards. That’s because the pattern I traced it from is an iron-on transfer and the word is reversed. DUH. So, I will not be stitching on a backwards “hello” onto this wall-hanging. Thanks, Candace! The little houses are very cute, but all those roofs required scallop stitches, which took kind of a long time, especially since I’m a newbie stitcher and definitely a novice at the scallop stitch. The first roof didn’t go so well, but I think my technique improved as I went along. What do you think?

Today we made posole. I use the word “we” loosely, since you all know Eric made it. HOWEVER, I was working out in the Hazzard dojo whilst he made the posole. It made the house smell fabulous all day, and I couldn’t wait to eat a big bowl for dinner. We put sliced avocado, radishes, lime (of course!), and cilantro on ours:

HEAVEN. You can find the recipe here. Yes, it’s from Rachael Ray magazine. Don’t hate. If it tastes good, eat it, and this, my friends, tastes DAMN good. Yesterday before the Stitch-n-Bitch party, I took a trip to Michael’s with my friend Rochele, where I purchased some new floss, some floss labels, some embroidery hoops & blank embroidery fabric to try my hand at some framed embroidery art. The best thing though, were these awesome cards we found at the front of the store in the $1 bins:

“Cute as a button,” “Tough Cookie,” “Sly Fox,” and “Busy Bee.” Too cute! And only one dollar! Crazy. They reminded me of the greeting cards I stitched at Christmas time, like the “Peachy Keen” card pictured in my last post, so I had to have them. Perhaps I will do some hand-stitched versions of these.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

