Skip to content

Day 16 of Unemployment (continued): Kitty snuggles, fun mail & food photo diary

January 20, 2010

Today was a LAZY, comfy, RAINY day for me and Amelia. I think the picture to the left captures the POOFY snuggliness that is Amelia Bones, and she was quite the snuggly kitty today. She came and cuddled with me on the couch this afternoon, which she never does. Perhaps Monty Python sets the right mood for snuggle time? I thought I would do something fun (at least I think so) and share all the meals I ate today with you. On a day like today, which was gray, rainy, and devoid of job prospects, meals are often the highlights of the day. Is that sad? I don’t think so!

I started my day the way I start most days, with oatmeal and coffee:

For lunch I had a home-made cheese steak with my favorite beer:

And for dinner I cooked a quick pork cassoulet. Here are all the ingredients:

First, you cut bread into cubes to make the croutons and pop them in the oven for  baking:

Meanwhile, drain and rinse the cannelloni beans:

Puree half in the food processor:

Cut the pork tenderloin into 1 inch cubes and season with salt & pepper:

Then brown for 5 minutes in a dutch oven:

Set pork aside and throw in one sliced onion and 12 oz. kielbasa sausage, cooking for 5 minutes:

Then throw in 4 cloves minced garlic and 1 teaspoon dried thyme, cooking for 1 minute. Add back in your pork and 1 14 oz can diced tomatoes, 2 cups chicken broth, and the whole and pureed beans, and simmer for 10 minutes:

Serve topped with croutons:

YUMS. My stats for today:

People I talked to today besides my husband: 10

Number of places gone to today (this is new): 1

Today’s pair of pj’s = Purple with polka dots (I just washed them, they’re my favorite). Picture!:

Showers taken = 1

TV watched today = 1/2 hour of Monty Python’s “And Now For Something Completely Different.” Hilarious.

Minutes spent in the Hazzard dojo = 0

Jobs applied for = 0

Stitching project = Finished up pink tee shirt and a worked on a thank-you card for Eric’s major professor.

Here’s the finished pink tee-shirt:

And here’s my design and progress on thank-you card:

I got some awesome stuff in the mail today, which made me feel loved and happy. My friend April sent me a blank banner from the Sublime Stitching website, which I will stitch and send back to her so she can hang in her cubbie at work:

Hmm…what to stitch, what to stitch… And my Rachel in Portland sent me a beautiful furoshiki, which can be used for many things such as wrapping a gifts and toting cooked meals to friends houses:

Thanks guys, I feel loved!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

