Skip to content

Day 13: Portland Jobs, etc.

January 13, 2010

Today was an o.k. day for me and Amelia. Apparently there is a band of raccoons that hang out around our house, which may explain of Amelia’s crazy behavior of window looking and squawking. Today Eric and I officially decided to start expanding our job search outside the Sacramento area. We are still looking here, but have expanded the search to include the Portland, OR area. I applied for two jobs there today. There is a job there (for which I plan on applying tomorrow) that wants like 5-7 years of experience, plus “preferably” grad-level education, that pays like $18 bucks an hour…HAHAHAHAHAHA. Ridiculous. I mean, seriously, why did I incur over $16,000 of student loans on my graduate education to earn that? Did I mention ridiculous? I did quite a bit of stitchery today, which I still can’t share because of the secretness of it…boo! We did, however, cook two amazing meals today, which I have pictures of:

Spicy fideo chicken soup for lunch:

Fideo is Mexican comfort food. It is like the only noodle dish in the entire cuisine (that I know of) and it is SO good. It just makes you feel better. *SIGH* Brown the vermicelli noodles in oil, then add onions and sautee, spicy canned tomatoes, chicken, chicken broth and ….. YUM. Top with avocado, cheese, and cilantro. And squeeze some limes on it, too, cause ya know, limes make everything better.

And for dinner, pasta with butternut squash:

Prosciutto:

And spinach:

Finished product (in the pan, then the bowl) :

It was yummy yummy indeed. Daily stats:

People I talked to today besides my husband: 5

Number of places gone to today (this is new): 1

Today’s pair of pj’s = Purple with polka dots

Showers taken = 1

TV watched today = Modern Family, 2 episodes

Minutes spent in the Hazzard dojo = 30

Jobs applied for = 2

Stitching project = Secret project 1

Looks like it’s going to be a fun weekend, filled with friends, fun, and craftyness…I am super excited. I promise to try and take lots of pictures. Eric should be getting his resume and cover letter back from the person he hired to write said documents tomorrow, and then he will be applying to a couple of jobs…so, fingers crossed, prayers sent up, and all that. My parents very graciously offered to “help” us (i.e. give us money) if we needed it…under normal circumstances I usually say “we’re o.k.,” but this time I just said “whatever you want to do to ‘help’ is o.k. with us.” Tomorrow is another day to job hunt…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

